Green fingers 2: Cruise Control

The tomato plants are sprouting up. The cat is obviously not a fan. No tomatoes yet though, although there are a lot of flowers. In all my years growing tomatoes (oh so many years) I have left them to do their own thing. However, I have recently learnt that tomato plants require a bit of help on the pollination front, they’re “perfect” flowers so have both stamen and stigma (male and female bits) and you need the pollen from one to fall on the other. Bees should do this for you but just in case you can give them a hand. The easiest way to do this is to shake the flowers (there are YouTube videos aplenty). So every night now I go out and give them a bit of a wiggle. I’m sure the upstairs neighbours think I’m mad, sitting in front of my plants, wobbling them and having a quiet word with any caterpillars who dare to come close but fingers crossed it’ll all be worth it.

Any thoughts? Leave a comment

